Skip to main content

TARCOG News & Headlines

Read on for recent happenings, announcements, and notable headlines from TARCOG and its communities throughout the region.

New Meeting Schedule for TARCOG Board

TARCOG Executive Director Michelle Jordan and Board President Connie Spears at the Jan. 23 Board Meeting.

The TARCOG Board of Directors voted at its January meeting to change the frequency and time of its meetings to better accommodate the schedules of its members.

Board President Connie Spears says the meetings will now be held quarterly on the fourth Tuesday at 11:00 a.m. Previously, the meetings were held the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m.

Executive Director Michelle Jordan says the change will eliminate long drives at night for some members who live up to an hour or more away from the TARCOG office. She said it will also provide an opportunity for more interaction with staff since the meeting will be held during the workday.

At the Jan. 23 meeting, board members voted unanimously to make the change. The Board’s next meeting will be 11 a.m., Tuesday, March 26 at the TARCOG office, 7037 Old Madison Pike, Suite 350.

“By meeting during the day and less frequently, we believe we will have more participation by our members,” Connie says.

Connie represents the City of Madison on the TARCOG Board because of her role on the City Council. She says serving on the TARCOG Board with 25 other members from across the region helps everyone stay abreast of the region’s needs.

“TARCOG Is invaluable to our region, not only because of our services for the Aging, but because of the grant writing, economic development and planning services we provide,” Connie says. “We develop relationships and partnerships among our members and that’s important because no city, town or county exists in a vacuum. By working together, we are stronger than any of us are alone.

Other TARCOG Board officers and members include:

DeKalb County

  • Ex-Officio Larry Chesser, a citizen of Fort Payne
  • Chuck Ables, mayor of Geraldine
  • Lester Black, county commissioner
  • Paul Cagle, mayor of Fyffe

Jackson County

  • Philip Anderson, citizen of Dutton
  • Mike Ashburn, Scottsboro City Council
  • Nancy Griggs, citizen of Scottsboro
  • Mike Kirkland, citizen of Scottsboro
  • Jim McCamy, mayor of Scottsboro

Limestone County

  • Vice President James E. Lucas, Athens City Council
  • Danny Barksdale, county commissioner
  • Helen Carter, citizen of Elkmont
  • Collin Daly, county commission chairman

Madison County

  • Tommy Battle, mayor of Huntsville
  • Mary Caudle, mayor of Triana
  • Steve Haraway, county commissioner
  • Craig Hill, county commissioner
  • David Little, Huntsville City Council
  • Jennie Robinson, Huntsville City Council
  • Douglas Smith, citizen of Madison
  • Thornton Stanley, Jr., citizen of Huntsville

Marshall County

  • Secretary John Myers, Guntersville City Council
  • Treasurer Bob Joslin, mayor of Arab
  • Tracy Honea, mayor of Albertville
  • James R. Watson, county commissioner

Additional meeting dates and locations for 2024:

  • June 25, Annual Board Picnic at Jimmy Gill Park, 2341 S. Hine St., Athens
  • Sept. 24, Annual Board Meeting at Baron Bluff, 3101 Burritt Drive, Huntsville
  • Dec. 3, TARCOG Office, 7037 Old Madison Pike, Suite 350, Huntsville