Skip to main content


Our Leadership Board

TARCOG’s membership elects 30 members to serve on its board of directors, of which five serve as officers. TARCOG service is a deep tradition for some board members: Thornton Stanley, Jr. and Collin Daly represent the second generation of their families to hold a leadership board position.

Connie Spears

Councilwoman, City of Madison

Vice President
James E. Lucas

Councilman, City of Athens

John Myers

Councilman, City of Guntersville

Bob Joslin

Mayor, City of Arab

Larry Chesser

Citizen, City of Fort Payne

Board Members

DeKalb County
  • Chuck Ables, Mayor, Town of Geraldine
  • Lester Black, Commissioner, DeKalb County Commission

  • Paul Cagle, Mayor, Town of Fyffe
  • Ricky Harcrow, Commission President, DeKalb County Commission
Jackson County
  • Philip Anderson, Citizen, Town of Dutton
  • Mike Ashburn, City of Scottsboro

  • Nancy Griggs, Citizen, City of Scottsboro

  • Mike Kirkland, Citizen, City of Scottsboro

  • Jim McCamy, Mayor, City of Scottsboro

  • James O’Neal, Citizen, Town of Paint Rock
Limestone County
  • Danny Barksdale, Commissioner, Limestone County Commission

  • Helen Carter, Citizen, Town of Elkmont
  • Collin Daly, Chairman, Limestone County Commission
Marshall County
  • Tracy Honea, Mayor, City of Albertville

  • James R. Watson, Commissioner, Marshall County Commission

Madison County
  • Tommy Battle, Mayor, City of Huntsville

  • Mary Caudle, Mayor, Town of Triana

  • Steve Haraway, Commissioner, Madison County Commission
  • Craig Hill, Commissioner, Madison County Commission
  • David Little, Councilman, Huntsville City Council

  • Jennie Robinson, Councilwoman, Huntsville City Council

  • Douglas Smith, Citizen, City of Madison

  • Thornton Stanley, Jr., Citizen, City of Huntsville

Executive Director

Michelle Gilliam Jordan

Michelle Gilliam Jordan is the Executive Director of the Top of Alabama Regional Council of Governments (TARCOG) in Huntsville, Alabama – one of the fastest growing councils of governments in the state. Michelle has worked as an urban and regional Planner in North Alabama for more than 25 years, having served as the planning director for the City of Huntsville and the City of Decatur. Michelle is a proud graduate of Alabama A&M University, where she earned undergraduate and graduate degrees. She serves her alma mater on the Department of Community and Regional Planning Department Advisory Council and the Youth Motivation Task Force Advisory Council. The American Institute of Certified Planners College of Fellows (FAICP) inducted Michelle in 2020 for her contributions to the planning profession. She is a member of the American Planning Association, the Alabama Association of Regional Councils, and the DesignAlabama board of directors. Michelle is a dedicated community servant and enjoys giving back to her community through her active membership in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., The Links, Inc., and Jack and Jill of America, Inc.

A native of Detroit, Michigan, Michelle is married to Clayton Jordan, and they are the proud parents of daughter, Lauren Nicole.